1. $cnt
  2. $cnt
  3. $cnt

Meet Furly (20230116-15)

History: Furly was found as a stray in northern Manitoba by the RCMP. They started taking care of him until a local foster was found. Furly is friendly and calm for a puppy. He is very food motivated so we think he will be easy to train.
Foster comments:
My name is Furly! I’m a 6 month old Husky Shepherd mix, but as you can tell, I’m very much a husky. I LOVE being outdoors and definitely need a yard. My foster brother and I frequently play out back and because I have a thick coat, I enjoy lying out on the deck to stay cool. I have met many a dog friend while at my foster parents house, so it’s safe to say I get along with all dogs I meet and when I find another puppy to play with, that’s it, I’m hooked! I am very food focused and therefore training has become pretty easy for my foster mom and dad. I know how to sit and lie down, I respond to my name when called and if you can whistle, that’s a plus (it’s a great way to get me to come to you!). I’m working slowly on crate training and can be left alone for a couple hours at a time without a lot of fuss, but I am still a pup so I don’t like to be left alone for too long. I enjoy car rides and easily chill out in the back if you need to take me somewhere. Since I am still little, I am pretty mouthy, but I have lots of toys to make sure I’m chewing only them. I’m getting use to the command “leave it” and “gentle” which has helped curb that behavior. I absolutely adore walks and am doing pretty well on them, alone, and with my foster brother. If you’re an active person, we’ll get along great because I do need to get my energy out, even if it’s just a quick sniffy walk around the block. I am great with older kids and with the right training and supervision, have been very gentle with them. Educating kids on how to interact with me is key to ensuring we get along safely together. I love being around people but also like my quiet time, so if you want to binge a show, I’ll lie down right by your feet and have a snooze. I’m an all around super pup who would do extremely well with another pet in the household but it’s not imperative, I just really enjoy both human and dog company!


Category: In Ontario
Size Range: Medium (26 LBs - 50 LBs)
Weight: 45-50 lbs.
Age Range: Puppy (2 Months – 12 Months)
Age: 5-6 months
Sex: Male
Breed: Shepherd/husky mix
Legacy: No
Color: Black and cream
Good With Kids: Yes
Good With Adults: Yes
Good With Dogs: Yes
Good With Cats: Yes

barks at them, scared of them

Housebroken: Yes

mostly, a few accidents over night

Crate Trained: Yes

in progress

Energy Level: Medium
Can be handled / touched Yes
Flight Risk: No
Food Aggressive: No
Walks On Leash: Yes
Destructive: No

but is still a puppy and is learning what is okay to chew and what is not

Needs a Yard: Yes
Needs a Home With a Second Dog: No

not a requirement but is great with other dogs

Can Live in Apartment: No
Special Needs: No
Spayed/Neutered: Yes
From: Manitoba

Thank you to
our partners!

We couldn’t do what we do without the
wonderful ongoing support from our
community partners. We encourage
all of our supporters to also
support our partners however
you’re able!