1. $cnt
  2. $cnt
  3. $cnt
  4. $cnt

Meet Hickey (20220802-05)

Additional info:
Hickey has become a very loving and sweet dog. She really enjoys cuddling with her people and playing with them and the other dog in the house (at least tries to). However she is extremely anxious so it did take time to build trust with her to get to this point.
Through daily training she has become less sensitive in the backyard and freely enjoys sniffing or running around in it. She is just beginning to learn that she can also safely play with toys back there as well. There is not a stuffy or ball this girl has not found fun to play with. She mostly plays in the evenings, and if you work 9-5 you’ll be pleasantly surprised that those are her nap times.
She has a strong desire to learn and now that we have some trust between us, she is learning quickly. She can sit and stay (for short periods) and we are working on lie down and look. She has just begun crate training and already goes in part way. At this time she is still just learning to accept a leash so that she can start venturing out on walks. She is very sensitive to sound and general neighborhood noises have deterred her from moving beyond the back gate or out the front door in our townhouse complex.
Due to her stranger danger, we are working very slowly on bringing people around so that she has very positive experiences and can learn to accept people around her. It doesn’t appear that she has had much interaction with people in the past, besides her fosters. Once a guest has been in the home for a short period of time (with no look, no talk, no eye contact) she will slightly relax.
This girl wants only to make her people happy and to enjoy her time with them and we are working to make that dream come true for her with her forever family.


Category: In Ontario
Size Range: Medium (26 LBs - 50 LBs)
Weight: 50 lbs
Age Range: Adult (1 Year – 7 Years)
Age: 2 years
Sex: Female
Breed: Lab/ Kelpie mix
Legacy: No
Color: Black
Good With Kids: Yes

Older calm children after slow introductions. She has a rough play style and is still learning her size

Good With Adults: Yes

but needs very slow intros (prefers women)

Good With Dogs: Yes

prefers calm dogs

Good With Cats: Unknown
Housebroken: Yes

but still has the odd accident if anxious

Crate Trained: Yes

in progress

Energy Level: Medium
Can be handled / touched Yes

after a few slow introductions

Flight Risk: No

but spooks easily and tries to run away (usually back towards the house)

Food Aggressive: No
Walks On Leash: Yes

she is very fearful when outside and wants to run away from them

Destructive: No

but does love to chew apart her toys

Needs a Yard: Yes

as she is just learning to walk on leash, this is a must

Needs a Home With a Second Dog: No

but would benefit from another calm, confident dog

Can Live in Apartment: No
Special Needs: No
Spayed/Neutered: Yes
From: Texas

Thank you to
our partners!

We couldn’t do what we do without the
wonderful ongoing support from our
community partners. We encourage
all of our supporters to also
support our partners however
you’re able!